27 Tips About Writing From Twitter

Published July 29, 2013 by M E McMahon

Some very funny and wise tips about writing. I especially love the “aspiring writer” advice.

Today's Author

I’m a writing tip junkie. Any tweet or blog post or random comment that begins, “Here’s the best tip I’ve ever gotten about writing…” makes me click. What’s thirty seconds when I could pick up a gold nugget that changes my writerly life?

Mostly, 1) I already know them, 2) they’re pedestrian, or 3) they’re wrong, but occasionally I get one–or twenty-seven in this case–that I think are worth passing on. See if you agree:

  1. Unless required for voice-related purposes, avoid using “needless to say” or “utilize” or “awesome tits” in your writing. (Women: Fill in the blank: “Awesome _____.”)
  2. Be tech savvy and have a good liberal arts background [to succeed as a writer].
  3. The whole process of writing a novel is having this great, beautiful idea and then spoiling it.
  4. “The writer is only free when he can tell the reader to go jump in the lake…”
  5. Stop…

View original post 412 more words

2 comments on “27 Tips About Writing From Twitter

  • Leave a Reply

