The Ultimate Award

Published August 25, 2013 by M E McMahon

Apple_with_medal

When I first started blogging last November, I had no set goals…I just knew I had to write and blogging seemed to be the key to getting that done.  As I started gathering readers and began to take my writing seriously, I found that being a writer was hard work…who knew?  But, I fell in love with the whole process and in the past nine amazing months some wonderful events have blessed my writing career!

I now find that I am a published author and have been accepted by my readers as such.  I’m amazed at the warm reception that publishers have given me and by the support my readers provide.

But, nothing touched me more than when my SO, Danny, came to my desk the other day and said, “Honey, I don’t know if I’ve told you, but I’m very proud of what you’ve done.”

Wow, that, to me, is the ultimate award for the hours I’ve spent working on my writing.  To have my family take pride in my work gives me the motivation to continue on trying to reach my goals and finish my novel.

I don’t believe any writer can truly succeed without the support of friends and loved ones.  We writers ask our loved ones to give us the time and space to write…our friends are counted on to supply feedback or encouragement.  I know that without all these people, I wouldn’t have had the courage to send my work to publishers.  They have given me the greatest gift…belief in my talent.  I am one lucky writer.

So, even if I’m fortunate enough to win other writing awards in my career…the one that will be the award I treasure most will be the one that is marked, “We’re Proud Of You.”  Yes, to me, that is the ultimate writing award.

I hope you all are lucky enough to receive the Ultimate Award.

Yours in Writing,

M E McMahon

12 comments on “The Ultimate Award

  • My gang are so dismissive of my writing. My husband is very encouraging but I think they are all waiting for me to just get sick of it and move on. I’d love to eventually get something published, they might think differently then.

    Like

  • The best reward is the belief in you your love ones can give. My children call me a writer, they accepted this is what I wanted to be before I did. Keep punching those keys and enjoying what you do, it radiates out to your readers.

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

