Confessions of A Serial Reader

Published August 30, 2013 by M E McMahon

stock-vector-arrested-emoticon-with-measuring-scale-in-back-holding-his-number-posing-for-a-criminal-mug-shot-126095285

Yes, my friends, I confess that I am a Serial Reader.  I love books that take a character and make you like them so much that you want to read about them time after time.

I read the first Harry Potter book only because I wanted to see if it was appropriate to give to my granddaughter as a gift.  After the first five chapters, I was hooked and became one of those fans waiting anxiously for the next adventure that Harry and his cohorts would embark upon.

Nora Robert’s (writing as J.D. Robb) hooked me with the first of her “In Death” series (I have a secret crush on that Irish scalawag, Rourke.)  Stephen King’s Roland and crew gave me many years of great reading in the “Gunslinger” series.  I could go on and on, but just suffice to say, I love books that make me shout “More!”

As a writer, I have tried to identify why these authors are so successful in creating characters that we are willing to read about them over and over. And, I found the answer is very simple.  These authors have created interesting, exciting three dimensional characters who capture our imagination…we want to meet them…we want to know them…we want to join them on their adventures.

As I work on my novel, I keep in mind that I would love my readers to relate to my heroine and the other characters  to the point that at the end of the book, they are left wanting more.  In order to do that, I have to give my characters unique characteristics while still keeping them real enough for readers to bond with.

They must be three dimensional and they must be someone the readers would want to know in their own world.  Perhaps, if I achieve this in my novel, I will hear the cries for “More!” from the readers.

I’m not sure I want to write about the same characters over and over again.  But, it would sure be nice to be asked to!

Well, I must go now.  I’ve just downloaded King’s new addition to the “Gunslinger” series titled “The Wind Through The Keyhole”–Roland, Jake, Eddie and Odetta are waiting for me!

Yours in Writing,

M E

13 comments on “Confessions of A Serial Reader

  • Good for you! I miss the days when I could read as voraciously as I love to. With getting my book ready for publication and learning all the ropes of self publishing, graphic artists, editors, etc and my evenings spent working on a social platform doesn’t allow much time other than the 2 hours I steal when I finally get to bed to keep up with my must reads. My kindle is full of wonderful author’s books of whom many have become acquaintenances on my journey. I can’t wait to the time I can get back to reading just for the sheer pleasure, Enjoy! And thanks again for helping me out! 🙂

    Like

  • Lately, I’ve been going for different fare in my reading. Most of the series I had been reading were boring me, so I fired up my Kindle and started downloading free books. A lot of them are series where the first book is given to get you hooked. Boy, have I found treasures! And these are self-published authors! The publishing houses truly missed some gems.

    Like

  • I like to read, my big series at the moment are the Odd Thomas books by Dean Koontz. I’ve been reading them without fail since the first, and am always excited when he comes out with a new one.

    As for writing, sometimes some of my characters come out more real to me at first than others. It isn’t unusual for some characters to slowly reveal themselves to me over the course of a few weeks, and still others show up fully themselves and just start talking. Unfortunately, some characters just don’t flesh out no matter how much I would like them to work. It’s all just potluck really. Things seem to work out best when I stick with what I know and can relate to, as much as I would love to be able to write good sci-fi and fantasy stories, they just seem to not be my calling. I have far more talent for suspense, paranormal or plausible dystopian futures.

    Ah well, even if my work isn’t sunny and uplifting, it’s consistent…

    Like

    • I love the Odd Thomas series! Koontz has long been a favorite author of mine and I’m so glad he does this series. I’m sure that your work is just fine…you’re characters will take on a life of their own!

      Like

      • The offer is still up to read Sorrow’s Moon. (The last NaNoWriMo novel that I actually won with) It’s still a first draft, as I haven’t really had time to do much editing, let alone fix the plot holes yet. You know exactly what I mean when I say it was written for speed and not exactly perfection. I would need the e-mail again to send the password though. (The only reason I leave the chapters on the site locked up is as backup, because computers have a lovely way of dying on me mid-novel.)

        Like

  • I love serials too…some of my favorites are by Anne McCaffrey, I like both her Rowen series and the Dragons of Pern…not to speak of Harry Potter, and These Dark Matters etc. I like continuity I guess.

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

