Paying It Forward Wednesday – 09/04/13

Published September 4, 2013 by M E McMahon

2977696129_df5f7a850b

I first started dipping my pen into the blogging waters back in January of this year. Excited, I designed my page and wrote a post…then I waited and hoped that someone would read this newcomer’s words.  To my delight, it’s wasn’t long before a wonderful blogger not only read and liked my piece, she actually commented on it. What a wonderful feeling it was to know that I was now welcome in the WordPress family and the first blogger to open the door to the possibilities of blogging was Aurora.

Aurora’s site, Metal Angel, is full of her writings about her family and her wonderful fantasy stories. She is a young mom, living through the harsh economic times with a husband and wee son. She struggles daily with trying to provide the daily needs of her family and shares her frustration and successes with the rest of us.

Many people look to the older generation for wisdom…I look to the younger generation, women like Aurora, for inspiration. And, she never lets me down.  Her life reminds me of my struggles as a single mom and her fantasy works always provide a little escape from the here and now. I just know that when her family duties calm down, she’s going to produce a best seller and I will be proud to say, “I knew her when!”

She is also the reason that I now have a novel in progress. She encouraged me to attend summer camp at NaNoWriMo…for that I will always thank her for I never dreamed of writing a novel before and am amazed that I am now working on revisions of the one I completed in camp!

So, head on over and say Hi to Aurora…she’s a great girl and she’ll welcome you…just like she welcomed this cranky old grandma. Click here and enjoy your visit!

Yours in Writing,

M E

10 comments on “Paying It Forward Wednesday – 09/04/13

  • Aww thanks so much, and big hugs for thinking of me. I often find that others have more faith in me than I have in myself, and thank you for being one of them. I don’t know what I would do sometimes without random kind words, they always mean much more than people will ever know, especially when you are struggling.

    I am happy that you took a chance on Camp NaNoWriMo this year. I had no doubts as wonderful as your posts always are, that you could do it, and write an amazing story in the process. Your posts are quite often the highlight of my day when I get a few moments to sit down and read.

    Sometimes when it comes to blogging and writing, I think the key is to write what you know, and what you feel, and keep pushing forward even if it’s only in baby steps 🙂

    Like

    • Things are calmer now and I’ve actually picked the book back up to work on it…had to let it rest awhile while my ideas cooked!

      Glad you like the series…it’s a great way of letting people know about the other bloggers who get too little recognition…they all have talent…like you!

      Like

  • Leave a Reply

