The Real Danger

Published October 27, 2013 by M E McMahon

1012029_649365638437631_789357962_n

11 comments on “The Real Danger

  • My sister has this quote on her Email signature; “There are worse crimes than burning books. One of them is not reading them.” ~Ray Bradbury~

    I have always loved reading and before I could read my grandmother read me stories at night as did my grandfather. I have always found delight in putting a story together visually in my mind from the words written on the pages.

    Like

  • I would like to be encouraged by the Kindle being the status symbol, unfortunately, a lot of kids don’t have the money for a Kindle or an iPad. Young adults struggling to survive in today’s economy, as well. That’s why I love libraries and a significant reason why I am making my book available in paperback. Do you know my own daughter (who doesn’t have a reader, and goes to the library with her daughter every week) still has not read my book and it has been out seven months…she keeps saying she wants to, but has not had the time with a 7 mo. old and a three yo.? (pssst….she is getting one for Christmas this year but don’t tell her.)

    Like

  • I don’t own an e-reader and I think my hubby would be upset with me if I even thought of getting one. He is a huge collector of books…as in several thousand of them in this house sort of collector. Four big bookshelves in the living room, six in the dining room, two more in the hallway, and two more in the bedroom, and we still have books piled in a few places because there isn’t enough shelf space. He brings them home from everywhere: thrift stores, used book shops, library book sales, yard sales, flea markets, and even ebay…you name it. He simply cannot resist collecting even more of them.

    I guess I should be thankful it’s only books and not something far far worse, but o.O

    Like

    • I just got a Kindle last year…I still retreat to paperbacks and hardcovers as I love turning those pages! It doesn’t matter what form reading takes…as long as we read!

      I was rereading Stephen King’s “On Writing” and shook my head when he stated that some writers would tell him…”but I don’t have time to read.” If you don’t read..you can’t write. Luckily, I was born with an unquenchable thirst for the written word!

      You might find that your husbands collection of books might bring you a tidy sum one of these days…if you can get them away from him! πŸ™‚

      Like

  • It’s the best time to make a few plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I may just I want to suggest you few interesting
    issues or suggestions. Maybe you can write next articles
    regarding this article. I want to read more issues approximately it!

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

